PRN: Winner of the 2014 International Ibsen Award: Peter Handke

20/mar/2014 13:01:25 PR Newswire Turismo Contatta l'autore

Questo comunicato è stato pubblicato più di 1 anno fa. Le informazioni su questa pagina potrebbero non essere attendibili.

Winner of the 2014 International Ibsen Award: Peter Handke


OSLO, Norway, March 20, 2014 /PRNewswire/ --

The International Ibsen Award, the world's leading theatre award, is awarded to individuals or institutions that have made a significant contribution to the development of theatre as an art form. The winner receives NOK 2.5 million.

     (Photo: )

The award was established by the Norwegian Government in 2007 and has previously been awarded to Peter Brook, Ariane Mnouchkine, Jon Fosse and Heiner Goebbels. The jury's citation states that the 2014 International Ibsen Award is being awarded to Peter Handke for "a body of work that is unparalleled in its formal beauty and brilliant reflection", and continues: "If Ibsen was the model playwright of the bourgeois epoch, which has yet to end, Peter Handke is undoubtedly theatre's most eminent epic poet." To read the jury's entire citation, please visit


Password: ibsen

About  Peter  Handke

Peter Handke was born in Kärnten, studied law at the University of Graz from 1961 to 1965, but broke off his studies when his first novel manuscript was accepted in 1965 (Die  Hornissen, 1966). In the same year, the legendary play Publikumsbeschimpfung (Offending  the  Audience) was put on in Frankfurt, directed by Claus Peymann. He has since published more than thirty novels and works of prose, and has written a number of plays and screenplays, including the screenplay for Wim Wenders' well-known, award winning Der  Himmel  über  Berlin  (Wings  of  Desire  or  The  Sk! y  Above  Berlin,  1987). He has won a number of international awards for his literary work and is regarded today as one of the great names of European literature. Handke lives in Chaville outside Paris.

About  The  International  Ibsen  Award

  • The award ceremony will take place on 21 September during the Ibsen Festival at the National Theatre in Oslo. Peter Handke's Immer  noch  Sturm will close the festival.
  • The award is funded by the Norwegian Government via the Ministry of Culture and is awarded every second year on Henrik Ibsen's birthday.
  • The committee consists of: Per Boye Hansen (Chair), Therese Bjørneboe (Deputy Chair), Hanne Tømta, Christiane Schneider, Sir Brian McMaster, Dr Thomas Oberender, and Roman Dolzhanskiy.
  • The award has previously been won by Peter Brook, Ariane Mnouchkine, Jon Fosse and Heiner Goebbels.
  • Henrik Ibsen was born in Skien on 20 March 1828.

For more about the award, this year's winner and photos visit:

For more information please contact Anne Berentsen, +47-99-52-44-38 /


blog comments powered by Disqus è un servizio offerto da Factotum Srl