PRN: Digital Artists Go Dotty for London

Digital Artists Go Dotty for London [11-January-2016] LONDON, January 11, 2016 /PRNewswire/ --  Dot London launches public art initiative to celebrate some of the capital's leading contemporary digital artists Dot London, the capital's unique domain name, is launching Dot to Dot, an exciting art initiative using a mix of digital and traditional art forms to showcase 20 London-based artists across the city and online (http://www.makeyours.london), from Tuesday 12th January - Sunday 28th February 2016.

Persone Michelle Loa Kum Cheung, Simon Eves, Morris Monroe, James Curran, Matt Cooper, Maggie Lambert, Sheila Fratini, Paola Minekov Art, Gregoire A. Meyer, Stuart Semple, Dan Hill
Luoghi Europa, Londra, Stati Uniti d'America
Organizzazioni Dot London Domains Ltd, London Stock Exchange
Argomenti internet, software, reti

11/gen/2016 16.56.02 PR Newswire Turismo Contatta l'autore

Questo comunicato è stato pubblicato più di 1 anno fa. Le informazioni su questa pagina potrebbero non essere attendibili.

Digital Artists Go Dotty for London

 
[11-January-2016]
 

LONDON, January 11, 2016 /PRNewswire/ --

 

Dot London launches public art initiative to celebrate some of the capital's leading contemporary digital artists 

Dot London, the capital's unique domain name, is launching Dot to Dot, an exciting art initiative using a mix of digital and traditional art forms to showcase 20 London-based artists across the city and online (http://www.makeyours.london), from Tuesday 12th  January - Sunday 28th February 2016.

     (Photo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20160108/320298 )

     (Photo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20160108/320299 )

     (Photo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20160108/320300 )

The 20 Dot to Dot pieces will be displayed in a number of satellite exhibitions at venues around the city throughout January and February, including Covent Garden, St Christopher's Place W1, One New Change, The Trunk at The Artworks in Elephant & Castle, BOX PARK Shoreditch and Borough Market's Market Hall which will feature an exclusive show of large hanging dots.

The city-wide exhibitions will feature an eclectic mix of still and digital art works from established and up-and-coming artists. Showcased talent includes renowned conceptual artist Duggie Fields; influential and uncompromising duo, The DNA Factory; and urban art collective, Greyworld.

The art pieces will additionally be displayed within posters across London as large circular, or 'dot', stills. The artist's fully digital pieces can also be viewed on their new, corresponding Dot London websites or visit http://www.makeyours.london to see the full collection.*

Dan Hill, Head of Dot London, said: "London is a melting pot for creativity and technology, and Dot to Dot is where they intersect. Our art initiative will showcase the capital's diverse range of artistic talent using contrasting modes - pop-up satellite exhibitions, street art and Dot London websites to help reach a wider online audience."

The digital artworks created for the project include, 'On Target', a swinging Sixties inspired dot, by graphic designer and illustrator Rian Hughes; 'Dotted Fox', a seemingly randomly arrangement of smaller dots to creates the image of a walking fox, by Yoni Alter; and 'Happy Dot', a bright yellow smile evoking the phrase "Turn that frown upside down" by contemporary artist, Stuart Semple.

London art icon, Duggie Fields, said: "I was excited to animate 'So Cool' and bring it to life for Dot to Dot. I feel that the computer takes me into areas of creativity I never expected to find myself, so it felt right to align my identity and my work with the London I love, interactively, by displaying my piece using a Dot London web address."

Dot to Dot is the first in a series of activities arranged by Dot London to take place over the next three months across the capital. For more information about Dot London visit http://www.makeyours.london and follow @dotLondon

Notes to Editors  

*http://www.makeyours.london will be live from Monday 11th of January

The Dot to Dot Satellite Exhibitions 

  • The Trunk at The Artworks in Elephant & Castle, 12th - 17th January
  • One New Change, City of London, 12th - 30th January
  • The Market Hall Exhibition - A unique hanging installation of dot artwork, Borough Market, 12th - 30th January
  • The Covent Garden Digital Dot Room, an immersive cinematic art experience, 18th - 31st January
  • BOXPARK Shoreditch, 1st - 28th February

Participating Artists 

          Artists            Dot London Websites     Duggie Fields      duggiefields.london     Greyworld          greyworld.london     Bert Gilbert       bertgilbert.london     Stuart Semple      stuartsemple.london     Gregoire A. Meyer  gregoireameyer.london     Yoni Alter         yonialter.london     Trinity Tristan    trinitytristan.london     Paola Minekov Art  paolaminekovart.london     Sheila Fratini     sheilafratini.london     Rian Hughes        rianhughes.london     The DNA Factory    thednafactory.london     Maggie Lambert     maggielambert.london     Matt Cooper        mattcooper.london     James Curran       jamescurran.london     Morris Monroe      morrismonroe.london     Simon Eves         simoneves.london     Michelle Loa Kum     Cheung             michelleloakumcheung.london     Yair Neuman        yairneuman.london     Mandii Pope        mandiipope.london     Dilek O'Keeffe     dilekokeeffe.london 

About Dot London 

London & Partners (official promotional company for London) set up a subsidiary, Dot London Domains Ltd, to operate a new registry and procured a Registry Services Provider, Minds + Machines, which is working in partnership to set up and operate the domain, Dot London. Dot London domain name is one of more than 1,000 new gTLDs being released by ICANN, the global internet body, along with other city based domain names, including '.paris', '.berlin' and '.nyc'. Dot London domain names are available to buy through a number of partner registrars.

Dot London is operated on a commercial basis and any surplus profit is re-invested for the benefit of London. More information can be found at http://domains.london/

Notable Dot Londoners include:

  • Borough Market
  • Covent Garden
  • Sky Garden
  • Presenter, fashion advisor and designer, Trinny Woodall
  • ExCeL London
  • Half Hitch gin

About Minds + Machines: 

Minds + Machines (LSE:MMX) is a leading owner and operator of new generic Top Level Domains ("gTLDs"), and provides registry services to a range of high-profile clients. The Group also provides domain name services to consumers through its wholly owned registrar operations in the US and Europe. For more information on Minds + Machines and its services and companies within the Group, please go to http://investors.mindsandmachines.com.

About ICANN:  

The Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) manages internet domains. It was founded in 1998 and is responsible for the internet's system of unique identifiers and ensures the internet's stability and security. More information can be found at http://www.icann.org


Company Codes: LSE:MMX
blog comments powered by Disqus
Comunicati.net è un servizio offerto da Factotum Srl