PRN: The Millicom Nomination Committee's Proposal for Board of Directors

30/mar/2017 08:52:44 PR Newswire Turismo Contatta l'autore

Questo comunicato è stato pubblicato più di 1 anno fa. Le informazioni su questa pagina potrebbero non essere attendibili.

The Millicom Nomination Committee's Proposal for Board of Directors


STOCKHOLM, Mar 30, 2017 /PRNewswire/ --

In advance of the Annual General Meeting of shareholders in Millicom International Cellular S.A. ("Millicom") to be held on 4 May 2017, Millicom's Nomination Committee proposes the re-election of Tom Boardman, Odilon Almeida, Janet Davidson, Simon Duffy, Tomas Eliasson and Alejandro Santo Domingo as Directors of the Board, and the election of Anders Jensen and José Antonio Ríos García as new Directors of the Board. The Nomination Committee also proposes the re-election of Tom Boardman as Chairman of the Board. Lorenzo Grabau and Jose Miguel García Fernández have decided not to seek re-election.

Anders Jensen is Executive Vice President, CEO Sweden and Chairman of Nordic Entertainment at Modern Times Group MTG. Between 2011 and 2014, Anders was Head of Consumer and Group Chief Marketing Officer at Danish telecommunications company TDC Group. Between 2005 and 2011, Anders held various leadership positions at Norwegian telecommunications company Telenor Group, including CEO of Telenor Hungary, CEO of Grameenphone in Bangladesh, and Chief Marketing Officer and Head of Consumer at Telenor Sweden. Prior to joining Telenor Group, Anders spent six years at Vodafone, holding various marketing and consumer focused leadership positions.

José Antonio Ríos García is currently the Chairman and CEO of Celistics Holdings, a leading provider of distribution and intelligent logistics solutions for the consumer technology industry in Latin America. Prior to joining Celistics in 2012, José was the International President of Global Crossing, the telecommunications company later acquired by Level 3 Communications. Between 1999 and 2001, José served as member of the Global Management Committee of Telefónica and President and CEO of Telefónica Media, and prior to joining Telefónica José served as Vice President of Hughes Electronics Corporation, was the founding President and CEO of Galaxy Latin America (DirecTV Latin America), and served as Chief Operating Officer and Corporate Vice President at the Cisneros Group of Companies for 14 years.

Cristina Stenbeck, Chairman of the Nomination Committee, commented: "The Nomination Committee is pleased to nominate two such qualified individuals to the Millicom Board. Anders Jensen and José Antonio Ríos will bring relevant experiences of the global telecommunications industry drawing on their executive roles at leading mobile operators and backbone network providers, as well as a valuable regional connectivity to the Latin American markets. Their deep understanding of digitally sophisticated consumers, transformative fixed-mobile convergence and consumer marketing will promote the Board's discussions around Millicom's future direction."

The Nomination Committee comprises Tom Boardman as Chairman of the Board of Directors; Cristina Stenbeck appointed by Kinnevik AB; John Hernander appointed by Nordea Funds; and Ossian Ekdahl appointed by Första AP-fonden. The Nomination Committee's complete proposals are presented in the notice convening Millicom's Annual General Meeting. 

For further information, please contact

Vivian Kobeh,
Corporate Communications Director
Tel: +1-305-476-7352 / +1-305 302-2858

This information was brought to you by Cision,c2227575

The following files are available for download:

The Millicom Nomination Committee™s proposal for Board of Directors


Company Codes: Bloomberg:MIC@SS, ISIN:SE0001174970, RICS:MIC.ST, Stockholm:MIC
blog comments powered by Disqus è un servizio offerto da Factotum Srl